Out of all the states, only New Hampshire doesn’t require drivers to have insurance on their vehicle whether it be for personal or business use. However, this doesn’t mean that there aren’t any regulations as far as vehicle insurance is concerned. Drivers who purchase insurance must have certain details in their policy. This refers to the coverage amounts for certain events. This includes the following.
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
- $25,000 in property damage coverage
- $1,000 in medical payments coverage
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage for multiple people
There are also certain exceptions to the rules above. For example, if you’ve been convicted of a DWI, you must have insurance for three years after the date of conviction. This is only for first time offenders though. If have multiple offenses, you will need to have insurance for a longer period of time.
Mandatory Vehicle Insurance in NH
Other than this, there are rules that apply to people who have been in accidents before. If you’ve had an accident where you were at fault and did not have insurance at the time, you must have vehicle insurance as well. Same as people with DWI, those who had an accident caused by their fault must have insurance for at least three years after the event occurring.
Although nobody is required to have vehicle insurance if there haven’t been any incidents like stated above, it is suggested that all drivers carry property damage insurance and standard liability.
One thing to keep in mind about New Hampshire vehicle insurance law is the state requires drivers to cover the costs of property damage and bodily injury caused by the driver’s mistake. Even though vehicle insurance isn’t required by law, what way there is to pay these than insurance? Therefore, you should purchase insurance even if it is a very basic one. After all, you would never know what could happen on the hilly roads of New Hampshire.