The tax-free weekend in Massachusetts is a great time to shop for items like clothing, furniture, and workout equipment. It’s also a good opportunity to stock up on school supplies or to purchase that new tech gadget you’ve been eyeing. However, it’s important to note that not all purchases qualify for the sales tax holiday. Specifically, the law states that the items purchased must be for personal use and not used in the course of a business. In addition, the law specifies that any single item costing more than $2,500 must be paid full taxes during the tax-free weekend. For the first $175 of any individual clothing item, however, sales tax does not apply.
While online purchases are not normally eligible for the sales tax holiday, they are allowed during this weekend. However, they must be ordered and paid for during the sales tax-free weekend, which ends at midnight on Sunday. They should be delivered within 30 days of the order date. For more details, check out the Department of Revenue’s website. Additionally, if a retailer charged sales tax in error during the weekend, you may be entitled to a refund. If you’re unsure whether your purchase qualified for the sales tax holiday, don’t hesitate to ask the retailer. They should be more than happy to give you a refund if you have proof that the item was tax-free.
What is Exempt from Sales Tax in Massachusetts?
While the Massachusetts tax-free shopping weekend isn’t the biggest in the country, it does cover a wider range of products than others. That’s because it applies to most items sold in stores, online, and by mail. The only requirement is that a customer is a resident of the state and that their purchase be made during the holiday period.
Eligible items include clothing, footwear, furniture, electronics, appliances, health and beauty items, and most school supplies. Individual clothing items must cost $175 or less to qualify, and other items must be $2,500 or less in price. Items that are bundled together may also be exempt, such as a television and receiver.
However, if you buy something during the tax-free weekend and it is later determined that the item doesn’t meet the criteria, then you must pay sales tax on the full amount of the purchase. Additionally, if you put down a deposit on an eligible item or prepaid for it before the holiday weekend, then that amount must be paid during the tax-free weekend in order to take advantage of the exemption.